More About Bread


bread

I have been baking my own bread now for at least 5 years and learnt so much .I now feel it is time to branch out and be a bit more adventurous.

The picture above is of one of my loaves which I am most impressed. I usually only make for my own family and a couple of friends ,usually it is rolls my speciality being granary. It is only when you make your own that you realise how many  preservatives they put in shop brought bread as my bread unless frozen has to be eaten fairly quickly otherwise it goes stale.

A| few weeks ago I brought a new  cooker and I did not realise what a difference it would make as unless I turned my rolls around half way through they would burn on one side.With my new cooker which is fan assisted they are perfect.I retire in two weeks time and I think I might start making more bread for others.I think is just getting the confidence to do it.(What if I sold some body a soggy loaf!)

Granary rolls.

Ingredients

10 oz Granary flour

6 oz  strong white flour

1 tbs  salt

a tbs sunflower oil

1 sachet quick yeast (7 grams)

300ml water

Method

Put both flours  into a large mixing bowl and put the salt on one side and the yeast on the other .

Add the oil and water and mix until it is a soft dough .

Tip the dough out onto a floured board and knead for about 5 minutes .

Put the dough back into the bowl and leave to rest for about 2 hours until about twice the size.

knead the dough again for about a minute .

Divide the dough into about 10 pieces and knead into balls .

Put on a floured baking tray and bake in a pre heated oven for about 20 – 25  minutes on gas 7 /220c

Transfer onto a wire rack to cool.

 

3 thoughts on “More About Bread

  1. This looks so great! I may need to get some tips from you. I try so hard to make bread and I fail every time. I never know what I’m doing, honestly. I’m just a little bit close to giving up.

Leave a Reply

